|
Please advice: Global.asa and SalesCart.a |
Post Reply |
Author | |
jason2004
Groupie Joined: September/29/05 Status: Offline Points: 87 |
Topic: Please advice: Global.asa and SalesCart.a Posted: May/29/06 at 2:59pm |
As I see, the majority of Sales Cart problems are caused by incorrect global.asa (broken database connection string) and/or the incorrect folder permission setting.
You do have a great manual for Sales Cart, but without many explanation and instructions about these major settings. I understand that global.asa problem is not the Sales Cart development bug and it is caused by Front Page. What you need to do is to show us exactly how global.asa/salescart.asa is supposed to be. Few days ago I’ve upgraded Sales Cart to PRO 5.04 version, (running FP2002 and XP) and my nightmares starts again. It took me lots of time to make ver.3.0 working and here we are again. I was glad to see that you have included salescart.asa inside global.asa in PRO 5.04 in order to prevent FP breaking connection string. Unfortunately, upon installing new version and running Sales Cart Wizard global.asa is broken again. It took me few hours to realize this. I can rewrite the code manually, and upload *.asa files manually as long as I know what the correct code is. Please advice: 1. With this new combination global.asa/salescart.asa is it correct to not have SalesCart1 listed in Tools>Web Settings>Database? 2. What global.asa/salscart.asa code is the correct one: 3. Original global.asa: Sub Application_OnStart End Sub Sub Application_OnEnd End Sub Sub Session_OnStart '==SalesCart Start== <!--#include file='cgi-bin/SalesCart.asa'--> '==SalesCart End== End Sub Sub Session_OnEnd End Sub 4. Front Page modified global.asa: ' Copyright (C) 1995-2004 ComCity. All Rights Reserved ' SalesCart 5 ' ' File: global.asa ' Revision: 4 ' ASP file that controls application and session-wide variables ' ' DO NOT CHANGE- UNLESS YOU REALLY KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING! ' <SCRIPT LANGUAGE=VBScript RUNAT=Server> Sub Application_OnStart '==FrontPage Generated - startspan== Dim FrontPage_UrlVars(1) '--Project Data Connection Application("SalesCart1_ConnectionString") = "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};DBQ=URL=fpdb/shop.mdb" FrontPage_UrlVars(0) = "SalesCart1_ConnectionString" Application("SalesCart1_ConnectionTimeout") = 15 Application("SalesCart1_CommandTimeout") = 30 Application("SalesCart1_CursorLocation") = 3 Application("SalesCart1_RuntimeUserName") ="" Application("SalesCart1_RuntimePassword") ="" '-- Application("FrontPage_UrlVars") = FrontPage_UrlVars '==FrontPage Generated - endspan== End Sub Sub FrontPage_StartSession On Error Resume Next 5. SalesCart.asa: <SCRIPT LANGUAGE=VBScript RUNAT=Server> ' Copyright (C) 1995-2004 ComCity. All Rights Reserved ' SalesCart 5 ' ' File: SalesCart.asa ' Revision: 4 ' ASP file that controls application and session-wide variables ' ' DO NOT CHANGE- UNLESS YOU REALLY KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING! ' ' Set your DSN or Database usernames and passwords here Session("ConnectionString") = "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};DBQ=" & Server.MapPath("\") & "\fpdb\shop.mdb; UID=; PWD=;" 6. Do we have to copy global.asa/salescart.asa, and FPDB/CGI-BIN folder inside http://localhost/ root as well since we have subwebs http://localhost/test etc. or not? I would really appreciate if you can clarify above mentioned, since without having correct code I can spend hours running in the circle without being able to run Sales Cart normally. Regards, Jason Edited by jason2004 |
|
mikeb
Admin Group Joined: March/17/04 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 194 |
Posted: June/01/06 at 9:45am |
There is no "exactly how global.asa/salescart.asa is supposed to be"...it all depends on where your database is and a whole bunch of other things about your hosting company.
[Also, you have way too many threads that talk about the same problem...so I have erased the duplicate posts. Confine a single problem to one thread.] Edited by mike |
|
jason2004
Groupie Joined: September/29/05 Status: Offline Points: 87 |
Posted: June/02/06 at 5:51am |
Hi Mike,
Thanks for your response. I can’t agree with you. I’m not performing anything unusual. What I’m doing is testing Pro 5.04 on http://localhost My hosting company is not having anything with this. If I can make it work on localhost, there should be no problems running it live. I believe that everyone is having same the same path. c:\inetpub\wwwroot\folder_name\fpdb\shop.mdb I have performed lots of testing, and I’ve seen that Front Page is changing global.asa file. Moreover, since in 5.04 version you have additional salescart.asa, everything becomes more complicated. Edited by jason2004 |
|
mikeb
Admin Group Joined: March/17/04 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 194 |
Posted: June/02/06 at 8:40am |
Nope, in fact, I would say nearly no professional web hosting company keeps customer content there. The most obvious reason not to is that this is the default and the most likely place for a hacker to start looking. Please refer to your other thread that you have on this problem alreadyThread Edited by mike |
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |