Forum Home Forum Home > SalesCart: Cloud > SalesCart Cloud: General
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - General Store Problems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

General Store Problems

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: General Store Problems
    Posted: March/18/16 at 2:01pm
We seem to be running into a number of problems with our new store setup (we are in the process of converting from SalesCart Express to SalesCart Cloud).

Shopping Cart: Some items will not add to the shopping cart. The only pattern we can identify is that this only seems to affect products with attributes. In some cases it's the entire product regardless of the attributes selected, in other cases it's only certain attribute combinations.

Pricing: On products that have multiple attribute selections, any base price adder is dropped from the total price as soon as the next level attribute is selected. When an item is added to the cart, the total for the item does not include any base price additions for attributes.

Wish List: On products that have attribute selections, some items will not add to wish list. For items that will add to the wish list, no attribute selections are included.

We seem to be having no issue for products without additional attribute options.

Any assistance you can provide in identifying the cause of these problems is appreciated.

Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/18/16 at 2:42pm
Ok, can we just work on one issue at a time and can you give us a list of things to do to "reproduce" what you are talking about. Like:

  1. Go to this URL
  2. Click on xyz
  3. etc


We'll work each problem and then go on to the next one until we are done. Choose the first one you want to work on and give us a "recipe" to reproduce the problem you are seeing on your end.

Also, it is possible that it is all one issue and when we fix it on issue #1, one or all the other issues go away.

Edited by admin - March/18/16 at 2:45pm
Back to Top
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/18/16 at 2:52pm
I'm not convinced the problems are unrelated, but we can attack them one at a time if that will help. Let's start with the first problem, items not adding to cart. An example of a product that will not add to the cart, regardless of attributes selected can be found at this link: http://www.salescart.net/store20/ProductTop.aspx?ProductID=610&StoreID=289. Regardless of the attributes selected, the item will not add to cart. An example of a product that will add to the cart with some attributes, but not with others can be found at this link: http://www.salescart.net/store20/ProductTop.aspx?productID=608&StoreID=289. If you pick the first item on the list of each attribute selection, the item will add to the cart, but if you select the last item on the list for each attribute option, it will not. With other attribute combinations, some add, some don't.

Please let me know if you need further info.
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/18/16 at 2:59pm
Ok, we'll check it.
It is possible it is all just one problem.
The only way is to peel the onion one layer at a time.

Ok, you have a lot of options...so that could be some kind of issue.

Edited by admin - March/18/16 at 3:01pm
Back to Top
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/18/16 at 3:05pm
Thanks for the help. The number of options is exactly the same as in our existing SalesCart express store and we've had no problems on that platform. If it helps to have the working store to compare to, those products are located at http://www.encoderoutlet.com/mall/buy-modellce.html and http://www.encoderoutlet.com/mall/buy-modeltr3.html
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/18/16 at 4:10pm
The other cart version won't have any relevance to the new cart.

It appears to be a bug of some kind. I'm going to have to escalate this to the programmers.

All the information is there and the actual order is stored in the database correctly but not in the order and it seems to get ignored if it is over a certain number of options and sub-options.

We'll get back to you shortly.
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 3:52pm
Ok, this "first" issue is resolved.

The issue was we never expected the description which includes the Option modifiers to be that long. The programmers said they provide merchants the ability to set two fields. One field is for the option description they want to provide to the customer to see (which is expected to be long and verbose), and then a shorter description back to the merchant that they expect to be very "summary" in nature so the item can be quickly and more efficient gathered by the merchant without lots of modifiers not necessary for the merchant to identify the attribute.

They could have gone back and simply reduced the total number of characters you can provide for those "summary form descriptions" & in the future this will likely be the case. However, for now, they have extended the description to allow for more characters.

For example, you have this description.

Low cost linear solution in Standard Housing with resolutions from 2-500 cycles per inch.     -(Cable Exit=Option 2 (2); Cycles Per Inch=200 Cycles Per Inch; Channels=Quadrature A&B w/ Index Z (R); Number of Channels=Line Driver (HV); Connector Type=8-pin M12 (12 mm))

The would envision an option presented to the customer as: Cycles Per Inch=200 Cycles Per Inch, but expect the form option back to the merchant to be something shorter like 200CPI. However, in any case, it is working currently.


Edited by admin - March/21/16 at 3:53pm
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 3:54pm
Can you please go through your list and see if this solution solves 1 or all the problems and report back the next one that is not resolved so we can work on that one next.
Back to Top
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 4:23pm
It does appear that problem 1 has been resolved (we have a lot of products and options, so we're still testing), but it had no impact on the other problems. This is just an observation, but it would have been helpful if some documentation existed to tell us character limits, and maybe even intended purpose, for the input fields. The help links either go nowhere or contain no useful information. We certainly could have shortened our descriptions had we known.
Back to Top
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 4:27pm
The next problem to address will be the base price adder for the various attributes. When an attribute with a base price adder is selected, that price adder seems to be forgotten when the next attribute is selected. It happens on all products, but you can use this product as a reference: http://www.salescart.net/store20/ProductTop.aspx?ProductID=610&StoreID=289

When you select an option in the first attribute that contains a base price adder, that additional price will be calculated into the total, but as soon as you select the second attribute, the price addition for the first attribute is forgotten. This happens with each level of attribute selection. When the product is added to the cart, only the base price adder for the last attribute is passed to the cart.
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 4:30pm
Yeh, I figured that is why I passed the information on. It was just "presumed" the merchant would use a more succinct description so in the future when they impose a limit, it will likely message as to that difference.

Ok, well I am definitely seeing the price change problem so will escalate that next. I'm not sure if that one is next or not but that problem actually is worse and definitely more obvious.
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 4:36pm
On issue #3, that is by design. Wish lists by design only include "base product configurations" and don't specify any attributes. The idea being attributes or attributes pricing and availability are likely to change at a later date and the customer must re-choose these.

The Wish list only includes a link back to the product page and there the customer must choose the current available options and pricing.

Edited by admin - March/21/16 at 4:37pm
Back to Top
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 4:59pm
I can see how that design would make in a lot of situations. Because of the technical nature of our product, this design would likely be confusing to a large number of our customers. Many of our customers use this type of feature to pass information along to a purchasing agtent. Under SalesCart Express, there was no wish list, just an email cart option. With that option, our customers were able to email their purchasing departments the complete configuration. Is it possible for us to disable the wish list feature to avoid confusing our customers?
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 5:13pm
There is a way for your customer to email the product. Go to bottom tabs and click>>Tell Others, there is a button that says Email Share, they can also socially share.

There is no way currently to disable the Wish List button. However, there is a way to disable the account button under Profile>>Your Store>>Manage Store Display.

-->Toggle to Show Your Account Link

If the account button is disabled, there is no way for anyone to get to the WishList. It seems like a legit Feature Request that if there is "no account button", then the Wish List should also go away, but it is not like that currently.

Edited by admin - March/21/16 at 5:13pm
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/21/16 at 6:31pm
Ok, the pricing issue is a bug. We just recently added the ability to do drop down options from plain text options and it appears and the option pricing model seems to see assume the old single text attributes instead of the drop down functionality. It is more complex but we'll get this fixed for you within the next few days.
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/22/16 at 4:17pm
Encoder:

The Pricing adjustments for attributes issue has been corrected.

In addition, if you turn off the "My Account" link at the top where you review wishlists, it will also turn off the Wishlist Button functionality.
Back to Top
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/24/16 at 1:36pm
It looks like the pricing is working correctly and being able to turn off the wish list is working perfectly.

We are now finding that we are receiving a server error when selecting the manufacturer tab. This happens on all products, but usually only if you select the manufacturer tab, then any other tab, and then attempt to return to the manufacturer tab. The text of the error is as follows:

Server Error in '/store20' Application.
Object variable or With block variable not set.
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object variable or With block variable not set.

Source Error:


Line 1535:        End Try
Line 1536:
Line 1537:        Dim URLManuf As String = ManufURLDetailsView.DataItem("ManufLink").ToString
Line 1538:        'If the MID is
Line 1539:        Try


Source File: D:\Domains\SalesCart_Express\wwwroot\store20\ProductTop.aspx.vb    Line: 1537

Stack Trace:


[NullReferenceException: Object variable or With block variable not set.]
   Microsoft.VisualBasic.CompilerServices.Container..ctor(Object Instance) +1212344
   Microsoft.VisualBasic.CompilerServices.NewLateBinding.ObjectLateInvokeDefault(Object Instance, Object[] Arguments, String[] ArgumentNames, Boolean ReportErrors, Boolean[] CopyBack) +39
   Microsoft.VisualBasic.CompilerServices.NewLateBinding.LateIndexGet(Object Instance, Object[] Arguments, String[] ArgumentNames) +53
   ProductTop.ManufURLDetailsView_PreRender(Object sender, EventArgs e) in D:\Domains\SalesCart_Express\wwwroot\store20\ProductTop.aspx.vb:1537
   System.Web.UI.Control.OnPreRender(EventArgs e) +9077586
   System.Web.UI.WebControls.DetailsView.OnPreRender(EventArgs e) +35
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +103
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +175
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +175
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +175
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +175
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +175
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +175
   System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal() +175
   System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +2496
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/24/16 at 2:39pm
Ok, please help us out little bit more on this one, because there is no manufacturer assigned to the products we look at for you. For example, if I look at your product Encoders>>Linear Solutions>>Model LCE01     There is no manufacturer assigned to it.

So did you assign some manufacturers on any products or none at all to get this result?

Do you plan on using/assigning manufacturers?
Back to Top
Encoder View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: January/06/16
Location: Idaho
Status: Offline
Points: 72
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Encoder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/24/16 at 2:47pm
We currently have no manufacturers assigned to our products because we are the manufacturer. We would prefer to disable this tab altogether, but don't see that as a possibility. (While we're on the subject, we'd also prefer to disable the specifications tab since the available fields aren't really relevant to our products.) As long as it's a tab the customer can select, we would prefer the customer not see an error. Is the error happening simply because we don't have a manufacturer assigned? If so, and we must use the tab, we can assign a manufacturer.
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Forum Administrator

Joined: March/11/04
Status: Offline
Points: 321
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March/24/16 at 2:52pm
There is currently no way to disabled the tabs but it shouldn't error out. We'll look further into the scenario where you choose it, then choose something else, and then go back and choose it again.

All of the tabs just have detailed information and we hide this stuff on purpose in the tabs because most customers would not want to bother with this information. It is only for the 5% of customers that must know everything. Additional details just give the search engines one more way to find something as well...

Edited by admin - March/24/16 at 2:55pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.04
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.

Copyright 2015 by ComCity® LLC and SalesCart™.  All Rights Reserved